If He Challahs, Let Him Go + Ciabatta + A Classic Revisited

My next foray into the bread world included a braided challah bread. This was scary! I wasn’t sure if I could pull off a six-stranded braid, but I was willing to give it a shot. I decided to follow a recipe that I stumbled upon on Pinterest. Thank goodness the recipe was clear and included LOTS of pictures. The one thing that I always forget about bread is that it takes SO LONG to make! I started this bread around 7 pm, and didn’t finish until well after my bedtime. It was so worth it though.

The challah bread braid was not the best in the world (my second try a few days later went much more smoothly!) but it tasted amazing! The bread was soft and had the slightest bit of sweetness. Just delicious.

IMG_0356

After my first challah, I was still on a bread kick, so I made a ciabatta one night after school. I was so pleased with how it turned out at first. It looked so beautiful. However, I was a bit disappointed to see that there were no air holes in it, as was promised in the recipe. Hmm. I’ll have to try that one again.

img_0357-e1495625666100.jpg

I also decided to make some chocolate chip cookies. I have a few different recipes that I really like, but my dad wanted me to go with my first “go-to” recipe. These cookies are inspired by the Levain Bakery cookies in NYC. If you haven’t been to that bakery, definitely take some time out of your city schedule to pay them a visit. I personally like their chocolate peanut butter cookies best, but you can’t go wrong with the classic chocolate chip.

These cookies are big, almost scone-like in texture, and so so good. This time, I made sure that I used large chocolate chips that almost pooled in the middle of the cookie. Irresistable!

Leave a Reply

